GOLD’S GYM & discipleship

tonight was my first night at Gold’s Gym. rebek and I recieved memberships as a very gracious gift last week (THANK YOU!!!!). I have been looking at today as both a blessing and a curse, let me break it down…..

once you join, you get two free training sessions. these aren’t just “here’s the equipment and how to use it”, it is a total assesment of your health and goals. at times tonight it hurt (emotionally and physically), especially after my workout.

anyway, I finally realized what my pastor, Jeff Kapusta, was talking about over a year ago. (he told me about it when he joined last year) I saw so many spiritual parallels in what he told me and showed me. my brain cells were firing the whole time. If the church could set up discipleship like this, we deifinitely wouldn’t have as many people rededicating to rededicate their rededication!?

here’s one example to chew on. too little and too much cardio is bad for our bodies. there is an optimal rate at which we are doing our bodies the most good. too much cardio and you burn your muscle (stealing your drive and strength, and you store the fat!). on the other hand too little and your really only doing enough to plateau (you only burn off what you recently ate, and your heart rate doesn’t get up enough to go anywhere). I see this as the balance of our Christ-like responsibilities. too much action (social justices and outreach– we become a cause instead of a revolution); too much meditation (we become staunch in our theologies and our depth and we forget the great commission)….somewhere in between and we are in that optimal range.

…..I just wish I could afford the training sessions (at the Gym that is!)

6 responses

  1. you go baby! i’m so proud of you- awesome post too.

    March 20, 2007 at 8:12 am

  2. Yeah baby! I’m proud too. Seriously though, I’m excited for you guys. I’m actually starting to go back to the gym so I guess in a way I’m rededicating my rededication…crap!

    March 20, 2007 at 6:04 pm

  3. JBK

    I’m proud of you too baby! That was an awesome blog. Hang in there – not only to you and Rebek but to Jeff as well. You never know who my bless you with another training session. The end result is awesome!

    March 20, 2007 at 7:50 pm

  4. Too much…too little…I believe Aristotle called it the “Golden Mean” Either way, it sounds like balance to me. Great stuff here Chad! Thanks! Love you guys…

    March 21, 2007 at 3:06 am

  5. tara

    side note… reign over me, tomorrow night?

    March 22, 2007 at 9:07 pm

  6. Lisa Scrib

    Hey Chad! I’m looking forward to seeing you at the gym…it’s an inspiration to me to see other people I know working out, too. Looking forward to learning about other insights you get along the way.

    April 7, 2007 at 2:05 am

Leave a Reply

