Dying for something

**CAUTION: “24” SPOILER**
DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THE 4-HOUR SEASON PREMIERE OF THE SHOW “24” AND INTEND TO AT A LATER TIME

I am still reeling from the 2 nights of 24’s premiere. Sure, it’s just a show, but no other show gets me emotionally engaged with the characters and situations as this show. A show that is centered around good, justice, and protecting people. The season starts off with Jack being returned to the US on a deal with the Chinese- he has been beaten and tortured there for 20 months. All to make another trade with a terrorist threatening American lives if they don’t deliver Jack Bauer.

As 2 of the men are making the drop-off, Bill Buchanon is at a loss for words…he doesn’t know what to say. And Jack in turn says, “That you understand the difference between dying for something and dying for nothing. The only reason I fought so hard to stay alive in China was because I didn’t want to die for nothing. And today…I could die for something. My way- my choice.”

Man, now that is powerful. Dying for something. What an incredible privilege we have to live for Jesus. All over the world Christians are being persecuted for their faith in Christ, beaten, tortured and in chains because of the gospel. I pray that we never get forget that outside our walls, there are people suffering far worse than we ever will, all for the name of Jesus. They truly are dying for something. How important the message of Christ is- a message of hope and salvation. The Bible tells us of Paul’s obedience and the suffering he went through for Christ- he tells us this in Acts 20:22-24:

22″And now, compelled by the Spirit, I am going to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there. 23I only know that in every city the Holy Spirit warns me that prison and hardships are facing me. 24However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.

I want to die for something worth living for. We all have a choice to live and die for something or for nothing… What are you living for?

rk

One response

  1. JBK

    Jesus – thank you Rebekah for helping me to rethink!

    January 19, 2007 at 8:54 pm

Leave a Reply

