I AM NOT FAMOUS

but I was recognized a few nights ago. It was bound to happen sooner or later, and tonight it did. I was in Wal-Mart picking up some late night essentials: milk and cold medicine.

A young lady, who I had noticed looking in my direction a few times finally approached me and said, “Hey, aren’t you in the band at lifepoint.”  on a side note:  I could have taken this opportunity to all the other stuff I do on top of playing guitar in our band…but I digress.

“Yes,” I replied.

So where am I going with this, well I am not sure only that the comment, although nice really didn’t make me feel any different.  and thats fine.  But it did remind me of the t-shirt Jeff wore a few weeks back that simply said “I am not famous”.   And it is true, I’m not, but deep, deep down…we all have a fascination with being recognized…of being someone worthy of notariety…to have a signature thats worth more than the pen it was written with….

But, I know that my life means nothing if all I can say is I made my name a little bit ‘bigger’ than the next guys.  I guess what I am trying to say is that daily I am confronted with the words of John the Baptizer, “He must increase, and I must decrease”.

Decrease me until there is nothing left but you…….

2 responses

  1. Aren’t you that guy that used to play with the Sounds of Liberty. I’ve seen you on t.v.! You must be famous!

    December 18, 2006 at 7:19 pm

  2. Jennifer

    Hey that was me!!! Nice seeing ya!

    January 25, 2007 at 7:32 am

Leave a Reply

