Thinking on “Thanks” and “Giving” my Thoughts.

So, just to get things started out right, Turkey day was great! Rebekah’s dressing was in full effect and Mom’s chocolate pie was off the chain! word!

And what i am thankful for:

for the past few days I’ve been reading through Psalms. David was an interesting guy to say the least. Known for his ability to kill with his bare hands , and a man after God’s own heart.

But the one thing that stands out to me is his ‘brutal honesty’  (thank you Jerry Maguire)

David was not like most christians today.  Somewhere along the way, its like there was this un-written rule that once you become a christian, you must do your best to become ‘sinless’- since that’s not possible, we’ve gotten really good at hiding them.  It is as if it is taboo for a christian to admit his or her sin, their struggles, their imperfections.

But, it wasn’t hard for David, in the same breath he  declares his faithfulness to God and his own shortcomings.  His struggle is real and we read it all throughout the Old Testament.  I think David’s example gives us all a voice.

So this thanksgiving I am thankful for the fact that God sees all of who I am -my worship as well as my sin – through the eyes of Jesus.

You have taken account of my wanderings;
Put my tears in Your bottle.
Are they not in Your book?  – Psalm 56:8

2 responses

  1. Eddie

    David, the boy (kinda short for his age), and David the man (with a real tendency for letting his passions get him into real trouble), is my personal fave among all the people in the Bible (Peter runs a close second)because I am able to relate to him the most. Despite his obvious flaws, God from the beginning sees something in David that others can’t and even after his greatest sin and failures, God still calls him a man after His own heart. We might all want to look at that model and understand that God is able to see in us what even we ourselves can’t. And He pours out His grace and mercy and love. Thanks Chad for the reminder.

    November 29, 2006 at 3:52 am

  2. Mom

    Thank you for your thoughts on David. You know I never really knew who David was (except for what I learned in Sunday school 45 years ago) but we just finished a Bible study, “Running With the Giants” and I feel that I really got to know David. I have tried to put myself in his place many times when he faced the “huge” Goliath and I think about if I were David – what would I have done – would I run scared or would I have faced him “head on” and said I’m coming Goliath – you had better run! It is cool to know that God sees the very best in us.

    December 2, 2006 at 2:03 am

Leave a Reply

