My own cracked cistern

cistern2.jpgI keep replaying in my head this passage of scripture from this week’s Starting Point session. It is from Jeremiah 2:1-13 and it’s all about how God’s children of Israel obeyed Him initially but then failed to be faithful to their commitment. It talks of their first love for Him, the desire to please him before they went back to their wicked ways, worshipping worthless idols instead of the Lord God. He reminds them of all his promises, his goodness, his provisions. Verse 13 reminds them that they have abandoned him and would rather dig their own cracked cistern (or well) than drink of his living water.

Why do I always like to do things my own way? I know God is faithful, I know his way is the best way, but I still want to go my own route and dig some dumb well that will never ever replenish my thirst, much less quench it. I look around at the people that are wandering around without hope, without Christ, digging their own wells- going after things that won’t satisfy like popularity, fame, fortune…things that don’t last.

Drives me more to try to live the example of being completely content in God’s living water and to help people know that water too.

rk

One response

  1. Eddie

    I guess it would be easy to read this Scripture (Jeremiah 2:1-13) and immediately begin comparing Israel with our own contemporary U.S., but for me, just emerging from my own wilderness, I believe each person who reads it must see what you have seen. Everytime we read God’s love and chastising correction of the children of Israel, we must look inward and examine ourselves. Thanks Rebekah, for reminding us/me.

    November 14, 2006 at 9:56 am

Leave a Reply

