REJOICE!

Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and fill up on my part that which is lacking of the afflictions of Christ in my flesh for his body’s sake, which is the church;

Colossians 1:24

I just heard a message on this verse, and I must tell you my head is spinning…trying to take it all in. Paul is writing these words in prison. I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake. I rejoice in my sufferings because of you…Christ? I am very convicted about the way I know that I throw around the words suffering, and dying to myself. I mean does God want me to be miserable? The answer is of course no, but it will be painful. He almost guarantees that if you want to follow him…get ready..it will come. You will share in My sufferings. It’s heavy; really heavy. But let us think on this. If Jesus offers only which makes us prosperous, only what brings us the greater good….where is the hope in that. If you want to know what hope feels like….do something for someone else, lay down your life for a brother, take a risk for something other than what you can gain. Do not give (sacrifice) out of your abundance, give out of whatever you have, where ever you are. Rejoice in the fact that through suffering…there is hope. Christ suffered and died to offer HOPE…salvation, a connection with a GOD in which we had been seperate for so long.

still soaking it all in….

Leave a Reply

