wish you were here

While it seems the rest of our church staff is on this song title/blog title kick, I thought I’d join the fun. The song title above is from one of my favorite Pink Floyd songs…probably my favorite because it is one of the first songs I learned on the guitar.

Going to high school in Johnston County, NC….I wasn’t the most popular kid for chosing the classic rock/grunge station over Hot Country FM. Maybe we found some common ground with Skynard (just a little).

So I really hadn’t thought much about the words until today. I think deep down it’s about missing out….missing out on what? Living!

The best line, the clincher of the song says…”And did you exchange a walk on part in the war for the lead role in a cage?”

There’s alot to unpack there, but it comes down to this…BIG PART in little story or little part in BIG STORY. Wouldn’t you like to be a part of something way bigger than just your day to day existence.

this song paints a vivid picture between the two. One is a soldier, in the midst of probably hundreds of others, at war, scared–most likely, but with a job to do. He is participting in war who’s outcome is more than just what he gets out of it, in fact he does more for it then it could ever give back to him.

And on the other side….a cage (I see a bird in there, but if you are a Smashing Pumpkins fan…a rat). Sure you are the spotlight, but your world is small. everything revolves around the bird. It eats, it sleeps, it chirps, it poops…that’s about it. It’s a life…but not LIVING. Eventually it will pass on with nothing more to show than what’s in that cage.

Join us in the war. wish you were here!

Suggested read:

I am Not, but I know I AM. by Louie Giglio

3 responses

  1. Hi, I’m your blog. Update me.

    Please!

    j-

    August 30, 2006 at 11:41 pm

  2. jbk

    Thank you for your words and comparisons. Great Blog.

    August 31, 2006 at 11:45 pm

  3. All you have to do to get the header is pic a theme that allows you to change the header.

    D

    September 3, 2006 at 2:41 am

Leave a Reply

