Express Yourself

I want to start this post by saying, I wish I was a better blogger. I read so many of my firend’s blogs who offer insight into life and how to save money at the local coffee shop. I mean I feel pretty darn good about myself when I go back and read one of my own posts where I may have stumbled upon the ocassional nugget, but mostly they are just that, random and unplanned. So to those bloggers who continue to inspire me …SALUTE!…….anyone…Hee-Haw?…anybody?….somebody?
So I am at work, and while I occasionally visit the various news sites to keep up with what’s going on in the world, I decide to take a trip over to my Alma Mater’s website. Good Ole’ Liberty University. I start searching around and find that numerous ministry-minded individuals have since recorded CD projects, sure to be filled with God-honoring praise and worship, songs of hope and faith, and the ever cliche thought-provoking lyrics as to how deeply we think about the attributes of GOD, and how our feeble minds try to understand him. I am not attacking anyone, in all honesty I am pointing the finger back at myself, seeing as how my wife and I are trying to finish recording such a ‘CD Project’. To be honest, it’s so cool. You know, to create, to express, to dress up all retro and take cool pictures of yourself in really cool places for your really cool website so people will think your ministry is really cool!?

Again….I am really pointing the finger at myself.

Because even though I haven’t done those things yet, I have wanted to. I mean, there is not a day that goes by that I don’t wish I hadn’t beaten them to it. That mine would be the “Origin of Cool”.
So now we get to my nugget that i seem to have stumbled upon. FAME (not the TV show, but the origin behind it). We all long for acceptance and affirmation from those around us. If Christ is truly in us then why do we we constantly feel as if we need anyone else’s approval? A concept I have really been trying to wrap my mind around lately. Are we all about image….deep down…do we care about the way things look… the way we look, the way we will be seen to the rest of the world? When we are walking around town or expressing ourselves in whatever we do, do people see Jesus?…or do they see what kind of shoes we are wearing? what brand of jeans we have on. Do they see how cool we are trying to be…how cool we long to be? Have we somewhere along the way traded his fame for a little piece of ours? I don’t know. I really am just not sure. But I think we will all benefit from questioning ourselves, every now and then.

(Some thoughts inspired by Donald Miller’s book “Searching for God Knows What” and Nickel Creek’s song, “When in Rome” from their new album…”Why Sould the Fire Die?”)

ck

5 responses

  1. My goodness. I just linked to your blog from John Carls. I was at Letorneau the camp in NY that you guys played at for a couple of years! Rebekah, I am not sure if you remember me or not but you were actually my counselor 🙂 It’s so awesome to see what’s going on in your lives, congragulations on being married! The church planting looks like it’s going to be amazing. God bless you guys!
    Charissa Strobolakos

    August 22, 2005 at 6:23 pm

  2. Anonymous

    Thank you for your 8/22 blog. What a blessing it is to me and I’m praying that you will soon have your home in Wilmigton and your jobs! God Bless You!

    August 23, 2005 at 5:34 am

  3. Anonymous

    hey guys! chad, i think sometimes ways to save money at the local coffee shop are a little overrated 😉 thanks for your email and we would love it if you guys came and visited sometime!!! good to know what’s going on in you guys’ lives and hope to talk to you more soon.

    love,
    tim and mel

    August 23, 2005 at 8:40 am

  4. Anonymous

    Love your “blog” when are you going to update more. God’s blessings to you and your wife.

    sharon cobb
    ohio

    August 24, 2005 at 6:20 am

  5. Anonymous

    i can’t help but to say that i’m proud of you guys. taking the big step! thanks for the orange cup! i use it daily. more than daily. btw, the new nickelcreek….yes. cool clothes at the coolest spot so that the album can be cool??? well, let’s get that album done first, ay!? 🙂

    much love,
    soowang

    August 24, 2005 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

